An ordinary sight on the way to work

A little more of the everyday ordinary in Yangon.

This is a regular sight – and I took this photo on my way to work last week when we were snapping ordinary moments.

IMG_8668

This is an ordinary bicycle and it is entirely usual to have at least three people on it.  The mum balances gracefully on the bike while holding an umbrella to protect her baby from the sun as well as holding on carefully to her baby.  The man is wearing the traditional Myanmar longyi with a less traditional (and until recently a rare sight) mobile phone sticking out of the waist.  The front basket also regularly holds an infant.

I have a secret plan to get myself a runaround bike this weekend, to use as the rains start to abate.  But I will not be taking any passengers, for their own safety!  Nor will I be riding one-handed while I hold my umbrella aloft!

10 thoughts on “An ordinary sight on the way to work

    • It still makes me smile, even after so many years here. And I will never be able to understand how easily folks can balance on the back of a bike! Never mind holding on to baby and brolly – I would need to cling on tight! It really is ordinary and extraordinary 🙂

  1. I’m fascinated by how effortlessly the mother makes it look to sit that way on a bicycle. If you think about it, though, she’s wearing something long and flowing. How does she keep it from getting caught in the spokes of the bike? Amazing!

    • That is just it, Brenda – it looks so easy and yet it must be such a fin balancing act. Added to that, her, her longyi is a loose garment which is worn by tucking it over. And she can keep her flip flop sandals on her feet!

  2. Hope you find yourself that bike this weekend. I was wondering the same thing Brenda was. Once when I was growing up and being a passenger on my sister’s bike, I got my foot caught in the spokes… very unpleasant to say the least! Thanks for sharing another ordinary sight.

    • Bike procurement is still in process……. bike shop was shut when I visited so am still pursuing. How painful catching your feet in the spokes of your sister’s bike, There is such a skill in this, and yet it looks so easy.

  3. I love how you captured that ordinary moment from the family’s perspective, transforming it into an extraordinary moment for us. Fascinating how the wife/mother can balance so easily, and as the others have noted, not gotten her attire caught in the spokes. xox

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.