Retreat

If there is something I have learned over the past years, it is this. I thrive in retreat. I embrace being in nature and far from crowds, madding or otherwise. I don’t need entertainment or sophisticated surroundings. I can sit and listen to the river flowing, the breeze in the trees and the sounds of critters and birds about their daily work. I have learned that this is important for my wellbeing and in fact is the most effective way to replenish energy and refresh my body and soul.

This year has been intense. Globally, we have seen and felt shockwaves we could never have believed, and we have heard the anguish of those affected by hate and conflict. The year has been one of enormous change for me personally, and one which has been healthy in many ways but its intensity has left me drained and spent. I need to face the coming year with energy and renewed enthusiasm. And for that I have again retreated, and ventured far to do so.

image

This means that the silence of the past weeks on this space is being gently lifted as I put together reflections and share with you some details of this retreat. I am working on the three words for the coming year and catching up with the past months. The Feisty Blue Gecko has been but resting and is ready to emerge refreshed.

To set the tone and provide a taste of what is to come, I share now a picture of my new neighbour, a sweet little blueish bird the likes of which I have never seen before, who was busy eyeing up this avocado while managing to pose for me.

ecuador-1

My eyes are open, my ears are listening and my mind is letting go of the intensity of the past months. Let the revitalisation begin.

6 thoughts on “Retreat

  1. Hi Pip read thus to some of my friends
    & they said how humbling & calm it read , I really envy the life you live it sounds so simple but satisfying,
    I really love my family & life style, but some days wish to live a simple life but fulfilling to as yours sounds x
    We wish you a merry Christmas &!a happy new year,
    It was lovely to hear from you xx

    • Aw, thank you so much for reading, and for taking the time and trouble to comment. It is lovely to hear from you too, and I send you heaps of love and good wishes for Christmas and the New Year too!.

      I have to admit, that day to day life is not so simple – full of deadlines, and long hours – but it is definitely fulfilling and I would not swap it. I won’t be able to do this for ever, but for now…

      Big hugs to you all
      P xoxox

    • Thanks, Kathi – I find this is one of the most healing things I am learning to do. Though my retreat has been a compromise between stepping back while trying to take advantage of the incredible surroundings and the likelihood that I will not be back here. A good balance to have to manage 🙂 The retreat is nearly over, I head to the Big City tomorrow and then start the homeward journey a couple of days later. I’m not sure if I’m ready for return … Hugs, P xox

Leave a Reply

