Where am I?

Where am I?

There continues to be silence in this space, and I am working to introduce some sounds and move towards more constant presence here. So here are a few words to break the silence. I am still around, still thinking and reflecting. Still kicking, still laughing and still crying. But not writing. Not writing nearly enough.

Usually I have three words to share at the start of the year, a practice which I discovered at the end of 2010 and which has worked incredibly well for me. However, these words are late in coming to you this year. To let you into a secret, they are a little late coming to me too. I have been offline a great deal in the past weeks and on the move too. Not enough time for reflection, but in a good way.

The three words will be ready soon, and once they are, they will be here. I am moving forward from my mantra of 2015 which reminded and pushed me to “breathe, stargaze and realise”. I leaned on an unexpected three words during personal challenges with “dignity, contemplate and beacon” which have been invaluable and for sure influenced my actions. My 2016 words are still morphing and whispering to me, the mantra still taking shape.

This year has been tough. I know I seem to say that each year, but I have crumbled more under unexpected challenges in recent months. So it is important to embrace unexpected gifts as well. Like this one……. A couple of weeks ago, while walking in the lanes in Yangon I happened to glance upwards. The dry season’s typical blue sky was interrupted by a random, feisty cloud.  It was clearly grumpy and dark but the sun was shining brightly behind it and casting clear rays from behind the cloud.

The silver lining and sunshine were clearly visible.

IMG_5494

This is such a powerful reminder that in the darkest of times there is indeed light and sunshine even if we cannot immediately see it.

Very soon my three word mantra will be ready to motivate and guide me forwards, seeking light and laughter, sunshine and smiles, happiness and healing for us all.

9 thoughts on “Where am I?

  1. It’s been a rough year for a lot of us, my friend. When the words are ready, they will come. Much love to you and hope we all have a better year in 2016. xoxo, Kathi

  2. Much love to you, my friend. Wouldn’t you think the further out we get, the easier things would become? Not necessarily so, right? Don’t press yourself too much. All in good time. I actually decided not to do resolutions or words this year. Write when you can. I’ll be reading. xo

    • Thank you, Nancy 🙂 Yes, I very much agree that resolutions or words only work if they work! I knew that I was seeking my words but have been on a journey and need to come to rest before they would settle.

  3. I always think of you when I think of the three-word mantra. Even though I abandoned the practice myself, it made me happy to know you kept it up. But as Nancy says, don’t push yourself. I know you’ve had a very tough year and I am sending you every good wish for a better on to come x

    • Thank you, Marie. I love the practice and the beauty of it, I believe, is that it works for me. It has been a tough year indeed, and a lot of movement and change. The words are now settling and will be here in the next few hours.
      All good wishes to you too xx

  4. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

Leave a Reply

