Dragonfruit for breakfast

There is a very special point in the year, when the first mangoes of the season are finally ready to eat.  We have been watching them for weeks, from the time when they appear as little walnut-sized promises.  At this time, just for a few days there are still a few of the last strawberries of the year available before they disappear until spring. This morning my breakfast included some of that very first mango of the season from the tree in our garden, along with a few of those late strawberries.  It is a rare and precious time, one which I anticipate for weeks, and treasure as it is hardly here and so soon gone.

This morning my breakfast bowl also contained a few pieces of dragonfruit. Coincidental, as this is special in a rather different way.  Today is the day that the cover image of the Anthology is released, and I am delighted to share this here.

Dragonfruit Full Cover-1

 

Isn’t it fabulous?

Dragonfruit Full Cover both sides

How Does One Dress to Buy Dragonfruit will be published by Signal8 Press which is part of Hong Kong-based Typhoon Media, on 10 June. Details and updates are on the Facebook page and there is more information, including the initial reviews and links to all contributing writers on the Signal 8 Press site.

How I love dragonfruit for breakfast!

 

13 thoughts on “Dragonfruit for breakfast

  1. dear Philippa,

    YES, yes! the cover image of the anthology is absolutely FABULOUS!!! and I am thrilled to see your name in the next photo, in the list of contributors. oh, the colors are divine – that sort of mélange of gorgeous tropical shades on the cover certainly begs to be plucked up immediately and read with abandon and delight. and, uummm, what a breakfast to savor with both the tastes and the colors – must have been a feast for both eyes and taste buds. when I finally get hold of the book, I will have my own little ceremonial of color and tastes – it’s bound to be a most beautiful way to let the reading begin! but not in order – will most certainly want to read your story first.

    much love and congratulations.

    Karen, xoxoxo

    • Thank you so much for your enthusiastic and kind words – I just love the design, it really is perfect. And the timing with dragonfruit being in season right now is perfect too! I am so looking forward to reading the stories of all of the writers.

  2. How exciting to see this. I love the title and the cover illustration..very tempting..just like the sound of your breakfast. Your writing always takes me to such exotic places. You are so talented at painting pictures with your words.

    • Thank you so much for your unwavering support and encouragement – and your very kind words. I am so fortunate to be surrounded by inspiration, and part of that is having dragonfruit, mangoes and strawberries for breakfast 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  4. What a wonderful thing! I’m so excited for you, and I simply love the cover of the anthology. I agree with Marie about your writing taking us into another world.

    • Thank you Beth – I am still squealy excited about it and can’t wait to have the book in my hands, though I will probably be reading the electronic version first as I will not be able to wait until the paper copy reaches me. I am delighted that you can join me here through the wonders of the internet and communication 🙂

  5. Hi Philippa,
    Well, this is exciting! Yes, the cover is just gorgeous. I am so excited to see your name listed as a contributor. I’m very proud of you! And mangos and strawberries, yum…

  6. Pingback: Many farewells, great confusions and a case full of Dragonfruit! | Feisty Blue Gecko - a tail of the unexpected

  7. Pingback: Life in the old blog yet! | Feisty Blue Gecko - a tail of the unexpected

Leave a Reply

