A peek into my wish bucket

I have been nursing some unexpected foot pain the past few days and with great reluctance have skipped my early morning cycle and swim to ensure that whatever had caused the pain would be not be aggravated.  So I woke slowly on Friday morning, as the sun slowly seeped in through the bedroom window. I reached over for my iPod and had a quick check to see how the world had been faring overnight while I was resting.  I was immediately struck by two posts, from family in the far north east of Scotland, both of whom were in awe of a magical and spectacular display of the northern lights, (Aurora Borealis) or the “heavenly dancers” immortalised in song.

While I had been sleeping, many parts of the UK had been privy to an unusually stunning performance, and with the benefits of modern technology a number of awe-inspiring images were being beamed across the cybersphere. Despite growing up in rural Perthshire in Scotland, I have no recollection of seeing the northern lights and have maintained a fascination and wish to see them.  So much so, that they have featured in my “wish bucket”.

Northern Lights - one of many images on Twitter

Northern Lights – Gullane in Scotland – one of many images on Twitter

My wish bucket is something I have created in the past few years, to capture those little and not so little wishes and dreams.  It is not a  bucket list, as there is not a pressure to tick these off before I kick it!  Nor is it a wish list which I similarly have to work through.  Rather it is an imaginary receptacle into which I carefully put those dreams and desires to turn into reality when the time and opportunity allows it. I particularly like the fact that I can take these delights from the bucket as often as I like.

Now is then, a very apt time to revisit what is in my wish bucket and perhaps spur me into action. These are the treasures in my wish bucket:

  • Meet a blogging friend in a new place (repeat as often as possible)
  • Buy a picture/piece of artwork at a gallery opening and watch them put the red sticker on it.
  • Book into the Oriental Bangkok for a weekend.  Or maybe a night.  Or maybe just have afternoon tea there given the price!
  • See a kangaroo in the wild.
  • Visit a country with the letter ‘Z’ in it.
  • See the Aurora Borealis (northern lights)
  • Get funky, colourful nail art on my finger and toenails just for fun, just for once.
  • See the rings on Saturn through an astronomy telescope
  • See some of my writing in print.  In a book, with real paper pages!
  • See an iceberg
  • See a starfish in the sea
  • Sail through the Norwegian Fiords

The first wish I plucked out of the bucket was the toenail art wish.  I put this off for a silly length of time before I decided to get some nail art on my toenails.  And when I did, I just loved it! I showed my toes off to anyone I met and delighted in the delicate design which was not only exquisite in my eyes, but also highly affordable at around $8! This was something I could take from the wish bucket time and time again.  And I do!  Happily the novelty has worn off to the extent that I no longer take photos of every single design I have had, though there are more photos than is sensible!

I have also realised a long held dream to buy a piece of artwork at an exhibition and am delighted with my acquisition.  Living here with a vibrant and emerging art scene has really made that possible, and I was delighted to watch the red sticker being put on my new piece of multi-media artwork, an innovative mix of photography, paint and collage.

The red sticker on my new piece of art

The red sticker on my new piece of art

I have spent time on the Oslo Fiord, although I still want to travel along the remoter western fiords in Norway, so that is another wish which I can take out of the wish bucket more than once. I have also managed to meet up with two blogging friends, Terri of A Fresh Chapter (in Hong Kong as she transited from Vietnam to India) and Audrey in Edinburgh and wish to meet many blogging friends who I have connected with on this very warm online breast cancer blogging community.

There are still many dreams in my wish bucket, and some easier to realise then others.  The northern lights remain there and it would be wonderful one day to see them.  I am delighted that so many in the UK were able to witness their magic and share their pictures though.  One day perhaps……….

There is another very special wish which I am hoping to see realised in the coming weeks but I do not want to speak of that until those plans are firmer.  In the meantime, I hold on tightly to the happiness which my wishes have gifted me and look forward to sharing more in good time.

northernlights metrouk

14 thoughts on “A peek into my wish bucket

  1. A great list, P!! I remember seeing the Aurora Borealis very unexpectedly about 30 years ago. I was in Boston, saying good night to a friend who’d made me dinner at her house. It was late October. We were standing on her front porch, chatting, and all of a sudden these vast waving bands of green light swished across the night sky!! At first, we were completely flummoxed, wondered if it were what is called ‘heat lightening,’ except heat lightning happens when it’s warm, and it’s not colored. Finally, I realized we were seeing the Northern Lights! We watched, speechless, while the show continued for a few minutes. Amazing!!!

    I’ve also seen a few spectacular double rainbows, complete arcs across the sky. 😀

    Next time you plan to visit the fiords, let me know. Would love to see them, too. xoxo, Kathi

    • Oh how magical, Kathi! And it is so clear from how you describe this, something which you saw 30 odd years ago, that the experience is one which remains vivid and wondrous all these years later.

      I am SO up for a trip to the fiords……………
      Hugs
      xoxox

  2. Loved this post. Your list is great, and that artwork you purchased is so lovely! Congratulations on achieving a few of your goals. Love the nail polish, too!!

    • Thanks, Beth – I have such fun with the list, and enjoy the mix between those which are easy and more in my grasp, with those bigger things to aim for. Yes, I just loved the artwork – the light is gorgeous and I was also very happy to support a young Myanmar artist. Happiness all round! 🙂

  3. Sadly the Aurora Borealis didn’t make it to deepest Wiltshire (maybe I’ll just have to go to Norway).

    And those nails – they’re wonderful. I’ve noticed that, even in countries where there is barely enough to eat, women attend to their hair and nails – I saw some wonderful nails in Cuba.

    • Sorry to hear the lights didn’t get to your neck of the woods, Norway it might have to be then!

      Yes, I love the way colour is so important in this part of the world, bright and vibrant. Lits the soul 🙂

    • Thanks Marie – it is another thing which works for me. As you say, no pressure. I can keep whichever wishes I want in there, and reach in for them when the time is right 🙂 x

  4. Pingback: Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  5. I love your wish bucket, the toe nail art and the urge to see the aurora borealis (which has long been a wish for me too). May both our wish buckets be filled to the brim and our lives long and healthy enough to keep adding new ones 🙂

  6. Pingback: Between Saturn and an iceberg – there be dragon (fruit) and dreams | Feisty Blue Gecko - a tail of the unexpected

  7. Pingback: Stargazing | Feisty Blue Gecko - a tail of the unexpected

Leave a Reply

