Inundated

Rainy season, rainy season  good old rainy season!  Slowly, gradually the skies clear,the mercury rises and we enjoy slivers of sunshine.  This is the time of year when we might even see rainbows.

This is also the time of year when we are more likely to be caught out by surprise rainstorms as we think the sky is clear.  Tuesday morning saw an unusually hard downpour before I was due to leave home in the morning.  I left a little early to allow extra time. As soon as I walked through the gate I was confronted with a highly confusing picture.  Right in front of me, where the road should have been, I could see children splashing as if they were in a swimming pool or river.  Where our street gently slopes downwards, our little lane had indeed become a river!  Further down I could see men waist deep in water.  Apart from an inch or two of water, I have never seen our street flood, unlike many other parts of the city. Now it was completely inundated.

Aung Min Gaung River 1Incredibly, most folks were going about their daily business and wading through the murky water. Children being carried or clinging on to the back of a bicycle as they get a lift, quite literally, to school, and the monks continuing to gather alms.  All seemingly oblivious, at the most, slightly inconvenienced.  While I stood like a complete wimp at the water’s edge phoning my office and taking photos before I returned home to wait.

Aung Min Gaung River 2

Aung Min Gaung River 3

Aung Min Gaung River 4

Aung Min Gaung River 5

Collecting alms

Collecting alms

Aung Min Gaung River 8

I was surprised that the waters receded fairly quickly, leaving major traffic jams and water-logged little cars stranded haphazardly around town. Soon there was little sign that the community had been inundated.

And amidst this, I feel emotionally inundated though perhaps it is not visible.  Work intensities take up enormous reserves of energy and time; I continue to strive to take time to smell the orchids, and have weekends and evenings filled with reading, writing and photography pursuits; working with a small group of women to organise awareness activities appropriately; swimming and cycling between downpours…….. In addition to that though, my mind is trying to assort and address some extras.  It is nearly 6 months since my father’s death and that is in my mind constantly, unexpected prompts catching me by surprise, yet feeling that it is too long ago for many to realise that the pain is so raw.  Healthwise, I am hurtling along “anniversary season”, having just marked the four year point from finding the lump, and being only 48 hours away from my four year cancerversary – the day that everything shifted and changed.  The day I heard those words “this is highly suspicious of cancer”. And just to add to the overflowing maelstrom in my head, I will travel to Bangkok for my Big Checks in just over a week.

There is not a great deal I can do, other than keep on swimming as the waters swirl around me, aware that Capt Paranoia is swimming towards me. I crave calmer waters and sunny skies.

For the moment though I must hold on to the thought that this inundation will also pass, in its own way.

13 thoughts on “Inundated

    • AW – thank you so much, Marie – I was so lucky to be in the right place at the right time here, but the photo quality is not so good 😦 This is with my wee point and shoot that I keep in my bag/pocket all the time here, and catch these moments. I got myself a fancy SLR (entry level) and have yet to be able to work out how to use the darn thing!!!

  1. Pingback: Weekly Round Up – The Changing Season Edition | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  2. It’s really amazing, isn’t it, when Mother Nature provides a weather analogy for what we are going through personally. Inundation is such an apt word for the emotional flood you are wading through.

    I can so relate about missing your dad. I think for at least the first 3 years after mine died, I missed him keenly, and especially at his birthday and death day, which were within about a week of one another in November. Time does eventually rub the sharp edges off our grief, but in the meantime, we live with it. And then there’s your cancer anniversary — another day fraught with remembrance. I hope these troubled waters recede for you, gently and soon.

    Hugs. Kathi

    • Aww – thank you so much K – yes, the weather analogy was literally right in front of my eyes! It does feel so much like a sludgy, murky flow I am pushing through. Thank you for your thoughtful words and understanding.
      Hugs to you too P x

  3. You’ll get to that other side and the waters will recede. Captain Paranoia will just have to push his soggy car back to where he came from. The photo essay is so good, I love it when you grab snips like this from your life (and the life around you) to share. Thanks so much. I’ll be thinking of you! ~Catherine

    • Thank you so much Catherine — I love the image of Capt P in his clapped out, sodden car having to push it back to where he came from, dripping and muddy! Yes, I am trying to see the other side at the moment. One more week and I will be in the midst of it all. I hope you are doing ok? Pxxx

Leave a Reply

