Day 2 Celebrating the ordinary – Monday’s choice

This truly is an awesome challenge!  In so many ways

It is awesome because I am enjoying it so much.  It is awesome because it is so all encompassing.  My goodness, this is going to be a less than gentle re-introduction for Marie, I do believe!  Already I am losing track of all of the wonderful images, and the beautiful stories behind them.

It is also awesome because I get to share some of the innumerable everyday gems which I treasure, living and working here in Myanmar.

So this morning, I made sure that I had the camera with me when I got up at 5.30 am to get ready for my swim.  I love my walk to the place I swim, and I knew that there would be no shortage of ordinary wonders.  Little did I know that the snapping would start even before I was fully dressed!  That image is not the one I will share today though.  As expected, there were plenty of moments and impressions that took my interest.  By the time I had left home, walked to and from the pool and eventually arrived at work, there were a silly number of images to choose from.  i soon realised that I would indeed be struggling to select just one for the day. (I have a plan in mind for those photos which will not make the daily “cut”, but I will share that later).

I did finally manage to select just one – and this is what I have chosen for my Monday picture.

This was the scene at my front door as I left for the pool this morning.  One of the first tasks of the day here is the sweeping up of leaves, dust (in the dry season) and generally tidying up.  It is kind of ritual cleansing, so that the day starts fresh and clean.  The brushes used are traditional, and give a gentle “swish, swish” sound as the sweeping is done.  The brush was resting against one of the plants, mid way through its sweeping work.

A simple, ordinary, daily sight.  And one to celebrate.

7 thoughts on “Day 2 Celebrating the ordinary – Monday’s choice

  1. I am so happy that so many of you have taken up this challenge, not least because it offers us a glimpse into each other’s lives. I always love the exoticism of your fabulous images Philippa and can’t wait to see what the rest of the week brings 🙂

    • Thank you so much Marie – for the inspiration and continued encouragement 🙂 I am really lucky that there is so much which is unusual and different for me in the images which surround me. However, watch this space, as the image I am sharing today (Tuesday already here 😉 ) is one from less exotic surrounds……….

    • Thank you Beth – yes isn’t this such a wonderful “front door” space. I love this whole little house, we have been here over three years and I could happily live in such a peaceful, healing and vibrant spot for the rest of my life. Highly unlikely, but a dream to dream 🙂 Yes, the morning swims make my day 🙂

  2. What a gorgeous photo of a place that to me is exotic. I’m so glad you joined the challenge, Philippa. You have so much to offer, so much with which to inspire us, from your daily life. xxoo

    • Thank you Jan – this is such a beautiful challenge which is giving us insights into each others lives. I have such a great deal to be thankful for, and that includes the richness of our interweaved interweb lives xx

  3. I wish you’d share lots of photos. Living in Myanmar must present you with a cornucopia of intriguing sights everyday. So glad you’re doing better and have resumed your usual schedule. You had me very concerned there, for a while.
    XOXOXO,
    Brenda

Leave a Reply

