Going for the burn!

This is not a reference to the extreme aerobic exercising trend in the 80s which saw burning muscles as an excercise goal!

Nor is it a reference to the situation in Bangkok, although there have been plenty of images of burning in the past few days.

Incidentally, the situation has in fact felt much less tense today, from our perspective.  The talk of curfew came and went, with the decision not to impose any curfew at the moment (thank you!).  Yesterday it felt as if there was a great deal of nervousness about the 3 pm deadline extended to the protesters to leave the protest site.  We needed to get some food shopping and headed to the supermarket just after lunchtime.  I was quite astounded at the numbers of people in the supermarket, and the amount of food they were buying!  There were long queues at the checkouts, where I have never seen more than 2-3 people in line before.  Fully laden shopping trolleys added to the queueing time.  It quickly became apparent that we are not at all good at panic buying!  We came out with pretty much what we had planned to get, such as bread, milk, fruit and mushroom paté!  Returning home with our pathetically small bag of shopping, we found the streets full as people were heading home.  The 3 pm deadline passed with no seemingly great movement on either side, some talk of talks and no real sign of any progress towards resolution.

No, the actual reference of the heading of this post is, as usual, to my constant companion – my treatment and how it is affecting me!

The burn of the radiation is really stinging and annoying my neck and clavicle area.  It feels as if I have been out in the sun with a very low cut top – as if that is likely these days, or any days!!  The surgery area is changing colour and the skin tight and extremely dry.

I saw Dr C this evening and he was happy with the burn so far!  I am also fairly happy with the burn so far – it is not (yet) as painful as I had feared.  I have 5 sessions left so I am really hoping that my skin will be able to get to the end of the treatment without breaking……….. but let’s see!

3 thoughts on “Going for the burn!

  1. Everything crossed for you. I am half way through my 20 sessions and absolutely hating it. My breast starting getting warm and pinky after only three sessions and although is not as bad as thought it could be by now I am fed up with everybody say mmm … ooh … are you putting on lots of cream? YES!

    At least we are on count down … hang on in there! P x

  2. Just popping in to say hello and to send some fairy dust to help with your last five radiotherapy treatments. Hope it goes well and your skin does you proud with it’s holding up powers!

    Bad Fairy xx

  3. Thanks P – I hate it too and I don’t really know why! I’m not allowed to put any cream on but so far the burn is more in my neck area. Just want it to be FINISHED!!

    Lovely to see you here Bad Fairy and thanks for the very welcome fairy dust. I am sorry I have been able to drop any treats off at your site, geckos don’t leave anything nice really 😉

    Take care both
    FBG
    xx

Leave a Reply

