Reasons to be cheerful – part 2

I have been a real misery guts the past few posts!  It is time for a change in attitude I think!

Well, last night I went out.  As in, an evening out to meet friends.  In the evening!  I realise that this is the first time I have been out at night for a good couple of months.  I have just not had the energy or felt in the slightest like anything more than a coffee or snack in the daytime. Of course, my encounter with pneumonia, on top of nasty Taxotere really put the finishing touches on any desire to have any social life.

When I had the chance to meet friends last night, the fact that I felt like meeting up in the evening was a very clear sign that I must be feeling better.  OK, I was heading home around 9 pm after a lovely meal and lots of catch up chat, but that is real progress.

And do you know the best thing?  The first thing my friend told me was how much better I was looking!  She was emphatic in saying this was because she saw such an improvement and stressed this several times.  The last time she saw me was in Yangon not long after I had had pneumonia, when I was at a bit of a low.  It did me the world of good to be told that and today I have felt a teensy bit stronger and better.  So I celebrated by meeting another friend this afternoon and I definitely felt brighter and stronger.

That is a very clear reason to be cheerful!

2 thoughts on “Reasons to be cheerful – part 2

  1. I have had a great week – meeting with my manager; girlie grub pub night out; meeting with HR; 4 hour catch up with colleagues; pub lunch; staff award evening(dancing for two hours!); lunch and shopping with a friend!! My diary has at last got dates! Though it has taken me eight and half months from diagnosis to get there! However, unsure what this week’s Rads are going to do to my wellbeing?!

    Glad to hear you are getting out and about and feeling upbeat! Well done!

    P xox

Leave a Reply

