2 down………..

………………………23 to go!

Yes, we’re off!  I have had 2 radiation sessions now so things are nicely underway.

I returned yesterday, Wednesday, for the first session after the mega planning on Tuesday.  Before I was shown through to get changed, I was told that there was still some work being done on the calculations and planning so I might have to wait a little longer.  No problem – the main thing is to get the details spot on so I was not worried about a delay.

More mind numbing reality TV – which I now call treatment TV.   I waited just over an hour, but during this time I was regularly updated, even by Dr C himself when the planning was finalised.

Shortly after, I was taken into the Radiation suite, where my individual mould was lying waiting for me.  Dr C asked me what kind of music I would like.  I was  so (pleasantly) surprised that it took me a moment to think of music I would like.  I did suggest that if they wanted me to keep absolutely still, then dance music was not a good idea!  Some gentle jazz was put on as I was adjusted into the mould and prepared by the technicians.

Before long I was strapped in, covered in a blanket and raised towards the radiation machine.  I was on my own with the machine now and soon it started moving, whirring and then beeping.  A bit too loudly as it blocked out some of the music at times!  The machine swung round to the other side and beeped at me from another direction, before changing positions and beeping another few times.  This carried on for around 20 minutes in all.

Finally, Dr C and technicians came back into the room – I could hear them but not see them, and they told me it was finished.  My hands were numb from trying not to move and my knees had locked so extracting myself from the mould took a few seconds.

Dr C was happy with the session and the calculations – now everything was set for the full course of radiation.

I forgot to mention something important yesterday.  When I was talking with Dr C after the simulation, I had asked him about all the markings  as there were so many.  He told me that this radiation therapy is prophylactic.  Now I think that is really good news.  He explained that the treatment is preventative rather than treating a tumour or cancerous area.    Even although I know the tumour has been removed, to hear the Dr say that there is no tumour to treat is sweet music to my ears.

11 thoughts on “2 down………..

      • It is very interesting hearing how the procedures differ from one place to another – we don’t get the beanbag thing (or at least, I didn’t and don’t know anyone who did).

        I did learn up on the physics of it – Ian Alexander would be proud of me! Having said that, I almost always shut my eyes and did my visualisation thing.

        I did take photos of the room and my set-up info for my journal.

      • Yes, isn’t it interesting – no bean bags for you? I am not sure if that is a good thing, I always have fun trying to get in and out of it!

        I had a really interesting email with the physics in it – a lot was beyond me but it was still really interesting. I seem to remember you were good at physics? I keep thinking my port is going to melt if the radiation gets too close. Today I tried counting to keep my mind occupied (is 76 quite a lot of zaps???) but I like your visualisation. I think I might try that tomorrow, but I will also need to count to make sure I get the same number! x

    • thanks bahini – it is so good to be at this stage now 🙂 Thanks for putting Algeria on my snazzy visitor map 🙂 x

    • So good to hear from you L – I was just thinking of you yesterday, but then realise I was probably prompted by GAW! Hope to be back in UK after rads – would love to catch up if you are around…………….. x

  1. Hey hey . . .just got your email! And yes, just whizzed thru your blog – very quickly as I am on my way out this afternoon. Just so your fans know – have been in Indonesia (Jakarta and Padang on W.Sumatra), followed by Sydney (intransit so doesn’t really count) and then suva, fiji…..now in Apia, Samoa! And thats in the 4 or so weeks since I last saw you! Head back to Bangkok this arvo via Aukland and Sydney!!! Yeeeeessssshhhhhhh.
    BUT more importantly – so pleased things going ok (well, fried and sizzled . . .) See you soon back in BKK !!! Hugs, Sx

    • Wow – no wonder you needed an extra Friday to fit all that in!! Let’s hope that snazzy map manages to capture it 😉 Really looking forward to catching up when you are back x

  2. I felt the same when I signed the consent form for radiotherapy – it said “Preventative treatment”. For once something was being done to stop it coming back and not get rid of it! Good feeling …

    P x

Leave a Reply

