Chemo treat update

I might have mentioned that I find Chemo pretty horrible. This is my excuse and reasoning for providing myself with a treat after every cycle (after my friend suggested it – thanks J!)

I realise that I have developed a kind of chemo treat system.  Unwritten rules have evolved as well as some kind of criteria. 

The first treat was quite a big one – a replacement camera as my camera had collapsed after 5 years of very heavy use.  I am still not sure if it was a treat as criteria no 1 is that the treat must not be something essential.  I had already bought books, but they are clearly essentials, so the camera was an appropriate treat. 

Treat number 2 was the famous music download disaster which I am repairing.  Treat number 3 was more music to try and replace the massive music library loss.  Another criteria – something which is for keeping and lifting my spirits.

Treat number 4 – the famous swimsuit – which is in serious danger of disintegration through overuse!   This also fits the criteria of being something which will motivate me and make me feel good.

I have to say that I have been finding it quite difficult latterly to shop for the chemo treats.  I have to make my mind up beforehand what I want and then find ut where I can find it, as energy and shopping outings are limited.  For treat Number 5 I decided that I needed some art materials to inspire creativity time at home. 

This is waiting for me at home, and was worth the trek and tiredness to get them.

And today, I have to say I did struggle to get treat number 6.  Another criteria is that I can’t get the treat before the chemo (it would be tempting fate) and I am just finding it a bit tiring when the side effects are piling in.  Treat number 6?  Some lovely modern jazz music and a sketch book.  Perfect.

Now I need to think ahead for treats 7 and 8…………………  suggestions very welcome!

Leave a Reply

