This is more than a blog. 2013 in review – AND my 400th post!

I love the way WordPress provides a review of my bloggy year!  And with sweet timing, this is providing the material for this, my 400th blog post!

Happy blog-a-something, dear gecko!

There are some quirky little facts in the review – for example,

  • The searches which directed most traffic to the blog included – “Scotland” and “Halloween pictures to colour”.  I reckon there must have been some highly confused and disappointed visitors!
  • The post which attracted most viewers was a rant which I wrote in around fifteen minutes and which terrified me as it became viral, with more viewers than the blog had had in the whole of 2010!
  • When Marie of Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer called on bloggers earlier today to share their favourite post of the year, I chose between three.  Those three are in fact the three most viewed posts of the year.
  • The blog was read in 144 countries last year.  That makes me feel dizzy and incredibly humbled.  Although many probably stumbled there by mischievous search guidance from Google :)
  • I have enormous support from friends who comment regularly – THANK YOU to Catherine, Karen, Nancy, Beth and Nancy who were highlighted, as well as many friends who engage with my witterings, outpourings and rants.

On a serious note, I need to repeat that this blog is more than a blog to me.  This is the way I have navigated my way through life since hearing those unwelcome “this is highly suspicious of cancer” words.  This has been the way I process and work through what comes in my path.  This has been the way I have found out that I am truly not alone in this.  This year has been particularly hard with more than its fair share of loss.  The blog has been one way of processing grief.

I feel it is woefully inadequate, but I mean it -

Thank you!

In case you are interested in the randomness of the review in detail – here it is:

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 29,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 11 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

10 thoughts on “This is more than a blog. 2013 in review – AND my 400th post!

  1. Pingback: My blog in 2013, Happy 2014 for everyone! | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. It is a perk in my day when you post on this blog. So, thank YOU for bearing your soul this 2013, and for taking us along on the highs (where we can celebrate) and the lows (where we can support). I’m wishing you more light than dark, and more smiles than tears in 2014.

    • Oh thank you so much Catherine – you have no idea how much I enjoy your company on this unusual journey. I am looking forward to more of your company and also the opportunity to celebrate and support. Love and hugs to you xxx

  3. Pingback: Which blog posts attracted most visits in 2013? | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

