A glimpse of Borneo

It is not so far from Bangkok to Borneo.  Two short flights, each just under 2 hours and then a drive or less than an hour.  Not so far at all.

Yet it took a whole day!  My mid-morning flight from Bangkok was delayed by nearly 2 hours which meant  a mid afternoon arrival in Kuala Lumpur.  This also meant that my incoming plane was barely touching down, as my connection was soaring into the clouds towards Borneo. I had no idea when the next flight to Kuching might be, and what I would do if there was not a connection available.  But somehow, I had already let go of the stresses of the roundabout and did not really see this as either my problem or something which I actually needed to resolve.  I just placed myself in the care of the airline and hoped for the best.

And the best actually happened.  I was drooping by the time I reached the front of the queue at the transfer desk (I was far from alone as a number of us had missed onward connections) and slumped over the counter as the rep took my old boarding pass.  He made several phone calls, and I could hear my surname being spelled out so I knew something was happening, but I also knew it was not straightforward.  However, it did not worry me and eventually he passed me a new boarding pass, telling me to hurry.  He had got me on the flight leaving in a few minutes but I had to run immediately to the gate.  Another few minutes were needed to try and ensure that my luggage knew which flight I was on and withing minutes I was inelegantly rushing through immigration and towards the gate.

And a quick look at my boarding pass, to see which gate I had to go to gave a nice surprise.  There must have been no economy seats, so I had been upgraded and was sitting at the front of the plane!

So I did indeed arrive yesterday evening, landing in Borneo just as the light was fading. I had another immigration stamp for Sarawak and a welcome reunion with my bags which had to my delight and surprise, travelled with me.  By the time I exited the airport terminal it was completely dark and the drive to the village where I was staying told me very little of Borneo.  The island was keeping its secrets for another day. It took around an hour finally before I arrived at an oasis of peace, tranquility and tropical paradise.  The end of a very long but strangely perfect day.

Arrival finally

Now, in the light of day it is time for some gentle exploring…………….

Rains in the rainforest

Rains in the rainforest – view from the haven I am staying in

6 thoughts on “A glimpse of Borneo

  1. It was great to meet you and your husband this year. Looking forward to hearing more about Borneo, and more about your life in 2014!

    • Thank you Melanie! And it was lovely meeting and working with you too in Yangon :) Borneo is amazing, and more amazing is that I am here – pinches self!! Wishing you a wonderful 2014 – do keep in touch :)

    • Thank you! Oh you are so right – short distances, complicated journeys that seem never to end. But as you say, the reward of arriving is just amazing :) I have never been to your part of the world, but work with folks who hail from your place. I will be stopping by your website and visiting :) All the best for 2014 and many more journeys :)

Leave a Reply

