The Great Escape. Part 1

We have progress.  Today was the first step forwards, quite literally.  I was finally able to venture over the hospital threshold, into the Big Outdoor World this morning.  I was discharged after my morning shot (injection, not Schnapps or any other kind of shot ;) ) and gingerly tiptoed out of the hospital, clutching a bag of meds, a “what not to eat” list for the Warfarin, 3 pre-filled syringes, appointment slips and instructions to come back twice a day for the shots, the next blood draw and a review of my bloods with Dr W.

There was one missing item however.  The wonderful tilty bed.  You know those marvellous hospital beds which tilt whichever way you want them to, to make you comfortable now matter where your aches and pains are?  One button raises the back so you can sit up on the now tilted mattress.  Another lowers it again.  Another button draws your knees up and lowers your feet. And another button keeps your back flat and raises your legs.  Quite amazing.

When the lung pain was at its most intense, I was completely unable to lie down flat, in any position so the tilty bed and its ability to let me rest while at a 30° angle (I know it was 30° because the control panel told me so) enabled me to sleep and eased the pain considerably. The miraculous tilty bed.

Before leaving the hospital I would eye my tilty bed and just wonder if there was a button on the control pad which would fold the bed up neatly into handbag size and let me sneak out with it.   My other tactic was to request one on prescription.  Sadly both approaches failed and when I left the ward, I also had to bid farewell to my tilty bed.  On being discharged from hospital, I have moved to a hotel nearby.  It is very comfortable, has everything I need and it will be great to get back into a swimming pool and get my strength back.  But being a hotel it does not have a tilty bed.  It has a very comfortable, spacious bed, but it is totally flat! Let’s just see how I manage to sleep tonight and whether I might have to draw on hitherto undiscovered engineering skills to tilt this bed.

I now have to wait for the bloods to regularise and reach the therapeutic level.  Whatever all that means.  I am learning yet another new kind of vocabulary to add to the cancery glossary.  INR levels are nothing to do with Indian Rupees, as I have been accustomed to for some time, but rather something to do with blood and clotting levels.  I have to find out what foods contain high amounts of vitamin K and minimise these.  Interesting it seems to be the most healthy super-foods including leafy greens, broccoli, soy and green tea!  How ironic.  In the meantime the needle count increases with a stonking 19 needle sticks under my belt, quite literally on my stomach, 4 blood draws, 1 IV line and 1 painkilling shot in the rear!  Rather a lot of looking the other way with my eyes shut!

Once the levels stabilise, then we will be looking at the Great Escape Part 2, which will be my return home to Yangon. And I hope that does not take too long because I have a lonesome husband, lovely garden, heaving desk and cute little doglet all waiting back in Yangon!

12 thoughts on “The Great Escape. Part 1

  1. Thank God! You have been released, and things are going in the right direction. I can’t imagine how scary this has been for you, especially with no husband there. Those pre-filled syringes… Are you going back twice a day so they can give you those injections, or are they for you to use?

    XOXOXO,
    Brenda

    • Thank you so much Brenda, it has been really horrible and I am glad to be in a different place now in all senses. The pre-filled syringes were for me to take back and be jabbed twice daily. Eeeew!!
      Pxox

  2. Congratulations for being released into the Big Outdoor World! Maybe you can get a tilty bed when you return home, that is, if your husband wouldn’t mind. I’m sure you miss him and your cutie dog very much. Those blood draws and i.v.s take me back to my days of chemo. It will be so nice for you to get this all behind you. My best to you on your journey back home. xoxo

    • Thanks J, yes it is great to be on the outside! And wouldn’t it be lovely to have a tilty bed at home? Thank goodness the injections have halted now as my bloods have reached the right level, so I just hope they now stay stable. Than you so much for your support. I do hope to get home soon.
      P
      xox

  3. I’m adding my good wishes and best thoughts with Brenda and Jan. You had me worried SICK when I heard you were in the hospital. Here’s to a quick recovery so you can get back to Yangon.
    xoxox
    AnneMarie

    • I’m sorry I had you worried – it was actually quite difficult to “break the news” on Twitter and I waited a good few days until I said anything, by which time the worst was behind me. thanks for your kind words and your wishes for my return to Yangon. :)
      P
      xox

    • Yes, Y, too much adventure for the time being! Funnily enough my three words for the year were escapade (hmm – not quite the escapade I had in mind this time!), resilience (badly need to develop that both physically and emotionally) and wonder. I wonder when I will get home!
      Thanks :)
      P
      xox

    • Thank you so much for your wishes, M, they are very thankfully received and appreciated. Thanks so much for your ongoing support and concern.
      P
      xox

  4. So glad to hear that the Gecko is out of captivity!! I hope you’re managing to sleep OK, that your bloods are doing everything they’re meant to and that you’re back with hub and pup very, very soon.

    • thanks Liz, yes it is so good to be in the outside world! I am now hoping that Part 2, and being reunited with hub and pup will be imminent :)
      P :)

Leave a Reply

